Bismarck (North Dakota)

Here is general information about Bismarck in North Dakota

Bismarck statistic

Coordinates 46°48′30″N 100°47′1″W
Country United States
State North Dakota
County Burleigh
Founded May 14, 1872
Named for Otto von Bismarck
Elevation 1,686 ft (514 m)
Time zone UTC-6 (CST)
ZIP codes 58501–58507
Area code(s) 701
FIPS code 38-07200
GNIS feature ID 1035849
Government (Mayor) Steve Bakken (R)
Government (State capital city) 34.80 sq mi (90.12 km2)
Government (Land) 34.30 sq mi (88.83 km2)
Government (Water) 0.50 sq mi (1.29 km2)
Area (State capital city) 34.80 sq mi (90.12 km2)
Area (Land) 34.30 sq mi (88.83 km2)
Area (Water) 0.50 sq mi (1.29 km2)
Population (2020) (State capital city) 73,622
Population (2020) (Estimate (2021)) 74,138
Population (2020) (Rank) US: 497th ND: 2nd
Population (2020) (Density) 2,143.83/sq mi (827.75/km2)
Population (2020) (Urban) 81,955 (349th)
Population (2020) (Metro) 134,417 (308th)

Time difference between Bismarck and other cities

Other cities info:

Bismarck (/ˈbɪzmɑːrk/) is the capital of the U.S. state of North Dakota and the county seat of Burleigh County. It is the second-most populouscity in the state after Fargo. The city's population was 73,622 in the 2020 census, while its metropolitan population was 133,626. In 2020, Forbes magazine ranked Bismarck as the seventh fastest-growing small city in the United States. As well as this, in 2019 it also received an eyebrow raising accolade from Rolling Stone of being the most boring town to grow up in within the entire United States. Bismarck was founded by European-Americans in 1872 on the east bank of the Missouri River. It has been North Dakota's capital city since 1889 when the state was created from the Dakota Territory and admitted to the Union.

Bismarck photos